Directory: Churches and People

General synod

The General Synod is the national assembly of the Church of England. It came into being in 1970 under the Synodical Government Measure 1969, replacing an earlier body known as the Church Assembly. It has powers in the following areas:

Legislation by Measure

  • To pass Measures which, if approved by resolution of each House of Parliament, receive Royal Assent and thereby become part of the law of England.

Legislation by Canon

  • To legislate by Canon, subject to Royal Licence and Assent.

Relations with other Churches

  • To regulate the Church of England's relations with other churches and to make provisions for matters relating to worship and doctrine. It can make provision by Act of Synod, regulation or other instrument in cases where legislation by or under a Measure or Canon is not necessary.

Liturgy and Doctrinal Assent

  • To approve, amend, continue or discontinue liturgies and make provision for any matter (except the publication of banns of marriage) to which rubrics of the Book of Common Prayer relate and to ensure that the forms of service contained in the Book of Common Prayer continue to be available for use in the Church of England. The Synod also decides the form in which ministers and officers of the Church of England are required to assent to the doctrine of the Church of England (the Declaration of Assent).


  • To consider any other matters of religious or public interest.


  • To approve (or reject) the central Church budget each year.

Members from the Diocese of Lincoln


The Bishop of Lincoln is ex officio a member of the House of Bishops of the General Synod.

Additionally, four clergy and four lay people were elected in the autumn of 2015 in the quinquennial elections.

The four proctors in convocation elected by the Diocese of Lincoln are:

The Ven Justine Allain Chapman
The Revd Alyson Buxton
The Revd Canon Gavin Kirk
The Revd Canon Martyn Taylor

The four members of the House of Laity elected by the Diocese of Lincoln are:

Nigel Bacon
Carl Fender
Prof Muriel Robinson OBE DL
Sue Slater

For more information about the elections, and standing for the General Synod, see: elections