The Annual Reader Service was held in Lincoln Cathedral on Saturday (12th October 2019).

The welcome was offered by Bishop Nicholas, and during the service the bishop asked three Readers to reflect on their experiences of Reader ministry through the decades: John Davies from the 1960s, John Marshall from the 1990s and Sue Slater from 2010 onwards.

The preacher was the Revd Canon Sal McDougall (Precentor), and Dr Sally Buck (Warden of Lay Ministry) led the intercessions.

The service was followed by The Association of Lincoln Readers 78th Annual General Meeting, and during the meeting a revised constitution document was presented by Nigel Bacon and approved by the Association. In addition, gift presentations were made to retiring Chairman John Marshall, who had served on the governing body since 2002, and Secretary General Shirley Keyes. Both were thanked for their work on behalf of the governing body and the Association of Lincoln Readers.

In his role as the new President of the Association of Lincoln Readers, Bishop Nicholas announced initial appointments to the Reader Board, and Sue Slater (the new Chair) and Marion Hewis (Vice Chair) were congratulated on their appointment.

More information on Reader ministry in the diocese may be found here.

The main image shows Readers Sandy Riley and Sue Horle.

The image below shows Sue Slater in discussion with Sally Smithson, and the image at the foot of the page shows Readers discussing the places in which they serve in the diocese.