The Ministry Bursary Awards have been running for more than 30 years and are open to all members of the clergy from Anglican Christian faiths. The awards will provide financial support for sabbatical breaks and projects planned for 2022.

The fundamental purpose of a sabbatical is to have time for soulful rest and refreshment for the applicant that is purposeful and balanced. Over the years, we have seen a diverse range of projects from ministerial development, pilgrimages to the pursuit of lifelong dreams.

All applicants for a Bursary Award must submit their application forms by 30 September 2021.

Entries for an award must fulfil the following criteria:

  • Awards are open to individual clergy in the Anglican Church in England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland. 
  • All clergy applying must be in stipendiary ministry. 
  • All clergy must have been ordained for at least 10 years and not taken a sabbatical in the previous 7 years of applying.
  • Applications are also open to Archbishops, Bishops, Deans and Assistants. The latter (Assistants) are classified as Assistant Curates, Deacons and Licensed Lay Workers including Church Army Evangelists engaged in the parochial ministry. Source: GS Misc 1243 published by the Archbishops’ Council 2019.
  • Awards are provided for extended study leave only (fees for a course during the extended study leave may be considered).
  • Entries must be made using the forms provided. 

We do not support:

  • Long-term courses such as PhD or university fees
  • An extended holiday/family holiday
  • Doing the same job in a different location
  • Solely used for academic study

Judging criteria

Judging of the 2022 entires will take place during Novermber 2021 and awards will be made in December 2021.

The amount given for individual awards will be judged on the following criteria:

  • Value to the individual applicant
  • The benefit to the wider church
  • Financial support already committed from other sources
  • The strength of the endorsement from a Bishop or Archdeacon supporting the plans.

For more information including eligibility criteria and to download an application form please visit the website:

This item was published on Wednesday 12 May 2021.