The Homilies Project is a resource that originated with the diocesan Liturgical Committee to resource parishes for Sunday (or weekday) worship.

Many smaller congregations might not have regular access to a priest or reader, and so this resource was created to enable people to engage with the scriptures without a licensed and theologically trained leader.

Each week’s material is based on the Gospel reading from the Common Worship lectionary, and contains details of the day’s readings, the Gospel printed out in full, a brief homily that is designed to stimulate discussion and prayer, and some questions that you might use either to begin discussion or consider as part of your time set aside for prayer.

The homilies are written by a variety of people, including our bishops and archdeacons, and these may be read by lay leaders who are otherwise not authorised to preach. They may be used within the context of a lay-led Service of the Word or Morning or Evening Prayer. They might also be used at midweek services or study groupsWe aim to post each week’s homily on the website at least a week in advance, so as to allow time for prayer and preparation.

Homilies

(Homilies for any missing weeks will be added here as soon as they become available. For enquiries, please contact John Leach via email or by calling 01522 50 40 50, extension 4108.)

Homily for Carol Services (John 1.1-14): Word file / PDF file

Homily for Carol Services (Luke 2.1-20): Word file / PDF file


Homily for Sunday, 25th November 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 18th November 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 11th November 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 4th November 2018: Word file / PDF file


Homily for Sunday, 28th October 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 21st October 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 14th October 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 7th October 2018: Word file / PDF file



Homily for Sunday, 30th September 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 23rd September 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 16th September 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 9th September 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 2nd September 2018: Word file / PDF file



Homily for Sunday, 26th August 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 19th August 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 12th August 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 5th August 2018: Word file / PDF file



Homily for Sunday, 29th July 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 22nd July 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 15th July 2018: Word filePDF file

Homily for Sunday, 8th July 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 1st July 2018: Word file / PDF file



Homily for Sunday, 24th June 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 17th June 2018: Word filePDF file

Homily for Sunday, 10th June 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 3rd June 2018: Word file / PDF file



Homily for Sunday, 27th May 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 20th May 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 13th May 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 6th May 2018: Word file / PDF file



Homily for Sunday, 29th April 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 22nd April 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 15th April 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 8th April 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Easter Day (1st April 2018): Word file / PDF file



Homily for Sunday, 18th March 2018: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 25th March 2018: Word file / PDF file