The Homilies Project is a resource that originated with the diocesan Liturgical Committee to resource parishes for Sunday (or weekday) worship.

Many smaller congregations might not have regular access to a priest or reader, and so this resource was created to enable people to engage with the scriptures without a licensed and theologically trained leader.

Each week’s material is based on the Gospel reading from the Common Worship lectionary, and contains details of the day’s readings, the Gospel printed out in full, a brief homily that is designed to stimulate discussion and prayer, and some questions that you might use either to begin discussion or consider as part of your time set aside for prayer.

The homilies are written by a variety of people, including our bishops and archdeacons, and these may be read by lay leaders who are otherwise not authorised to preach. They may be used within the context of a lay-led Service of the Word or Morning or Evening Prayer. They might also be used at midweek services or study groupsWe aim to post each week’s homily on the website at least a week in advance, so as to allow time for prayer and preparation.


Homilies

(Homilies for any missing weeks will be added here as soon as they become available. For enquiries, please contact Richard Steel via email or by calling 01522 50 40 30)

Some homilies may be available in audio form here
(note: as with all external websites, we are not responsible for their content).

Homily for Sunday 27th September 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday 20th September 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday 13th September 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday 6th September 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday 30th August 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday 23rd August 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday 16th August 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday 9th August 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday 2nd August 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday 26th July 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday 19th July 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday 12th July 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday 5th July 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday 28th June 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday 21st June 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday 14th June 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday 7th June 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 31st May 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 24th May 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Ascension Day, Thursday 21st May, 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 17th May 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 10th May 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 3rd May 2020: Word file / PDF file


Homily for Sunday, 26th April 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 19th April 2020: Word file / PDF file 

A homily for Easter Day (12th April 2020): Word / PDF file

A homily for Easter Eve (11th April 2020): Word / PDF file

Homily for Good Friday, 10th April 2020: Word file / PDF file

A homily for Maundy Thursday (9th April 2020): Word file / PDF file

Homily for Palm Sunday (5th April 2020): Word file / PDF file


Homily for Sunday, 29th March 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 22nd March 2020: Word file / PDF file

Homily for Sunday, 15th March 2020: Word file / PDF file


The two services below may be led by an appropriate lay minister, and the week's Homily may be read and discussed. Other liturgical materials may be used as appropriate, particularly during the different seasons of the church year.

A morning service of the Word: PDF File

An evening service of the Word: PDF File